vegan halloween

The Best Vegan Halloween Candy You Need to Try

Are you looking for some vegan Halloween candy options for your vegan food list this Halloween? For a list of dairy-free candy options?

Well, you have come to the right place. Because, this article lists off a huge amount of options for vegan Halloween snacks and candy!

No, you don’t have to miss out on the Halloween candy, I promise! There are plenty of Halloween candy options out there that are entirely dairy-free and vegan friendly. Many are right under your nose!

Vegan candy is not nearly as hard to find as one might think. As many candies are accidentally free of any animal products.

This means that you can still enjoy some of your favorite Halloween candies this year. Only now you know that they are considered to be vegan candy!

So, keep reading to find out what Halloween candy is vegan approved.

The Best Vegan Candy for Halloween

Now don’t get me wrong, there are many wonderful options of specialty vegan candy. But for the sake of clarity, I decided to only include the basic brands that we all know and love.

Though I love to treat myself to the occasional splurge of vegan candy bars and treats, specialty candy is much more expensive.

And expensive candy just isn’t an option if you need large amounts for Halloween! Especially if you plan to hand out candy to children.

This is why it is oh so convenient that there happens to be so many accidentally vegan candies out there. You will probably recognize most of them, and they are easy to find in most grocery stores.

I will be mentioning a few vegan candy brands at the end of this article so keep reading till the end if you are interested in those!

Related: 20 Surprisingly Vegan Candies

Related: Surprising Vegan Foods You Need to Know About

Long and Lasting

Looking for long and lasting candies that won’t disappear in mere minutes?

Well, here they are in their tasty glory. A small selection of hard candies and lollipops to help you to avoid shoveling in too much candy on Halloween!

Hard candies are one of the best options when it comes to finding vegan friendly candy for Halloween.

Fruity and Chewy

Chewy and fruity candy is by far the easiest vegan Halloween snacks and candy to find as there are many options.

These are the perfect kinds of candies to add to your vegan food list for Halloween. As they are people pleasers and enjoyed by just about everyone young or old.

They are also generally free of dairy, so they are a great option for your list of dairy-free candy for those with food allergies.

vegan halloween

The Classics

Looking for some of the more classical candies that don’t necessarily fit into either of the previously mentioned categories?

Here is a selection of some of the old and dear candies that we all grew up eating. Surprisingly many older candies often end up being accidentally vegan!

You most likely gave up these old-fashioned candies thinking that they weren’t vegan friendly. But you never know what might be accidentally vegan.

Specifically, Vegan Candy Brands

If you don’t have a large crowd of candy lovers to feed or are feeling like treating yourself. Then you must try out a few of these vegan candy brands!

I have researched all of these brands, and I am pretty much positive that they are entirely vegan friendly.

Each one is built off of a plant-based business model and provides a tasty selection of plat-based treats.

Many of these brands contain the harder to find type of vegan Halloween candy. Such as vegan candy bars, marshmallows, and candy caramels!

  • Dandies
  • Moo Free
  • Enjoy Life
  • Chocolate and Love
  • iChoc
  • Cocomels 

Here are a few candies that are specialty vegan friendly options. They are a little pricier and can be harder to find but they are great if you are looking for something chocolaty!

What Makes Candy not Vegan Friendly?

You may be wondering what exactly makes candy not suitable for people following a vegan diet. It’s just candy, right? No meat added, so what exactly makes some candy not suitable for those on a vegan diet?

You would be surprised just what they can sneak into something as innocent as candy. There are many ingredients that can be added to candy that come from animals. Most are by-products of the meat industry.

Here are a few ingredients to keep your eye out for if you are looking for vegan Halloween snacks and candy:

Gelatin

Gelatin is an ingredient in many things that seems innocent enough.

However, gelatin is made out of animal skin, ligaments, cartilage, tendons, and bones. Pretty unappetizing if I do say so myself.

It is often used to give chewy candy that jelly-like feel and texture.

Thankfully there are many other options of ingredients to achieve that deliciously chewy texture. This is why we are still able to find vegan friendly chewy candies!

Dairy

This is a pretty common ingredient that you will find in candy that is not vegan.

It makes its way into just about every chocolate candy on the market. This is why things like vegan candy bars will need to be bought from specialty brands.

But this is a tricky ingredient and is found in many other types of candy that you wouldn’t even realize. So, keep your eyes peeled.

Egg

Eggs are another one of those more commonly known ingredients that can be found in many candies.

To be honest, I’m not sure why some candies contain egg ingredients unless it contributes to a certain texture.

But despite the reasoning, candy that contains any form of eggs isn’t vegan. And you will definitely have to keep your eyes peeled as this is another sneaky ingredient!

Insect Byproducts

Now, this is a weird one but actually very common, and that is by-products that come from insects.

Candies that contain carmine color or confectioners glaze aren’t considered to be vegan friendly. As they contain crushed insects for color and the excretions of other insects to make the glaze.

How much this bothers you is a personal thing as insects are living creatures and yet not necessarily animals.

Though I have to admit that I may not care much about the well fair of bugs. That doesn’t mean that I necessarily want them in my candy!

What Does Vegan Friendly Mean?

If you aren’t completely certain what vegan friendly even means, it is quite a simple concept.

It simply means that that specific food is suitable for vegans to eat because it includes no animal products, this also means that vegetarians can eat it as well.

Foods labeled in this way can be eaten by those on a vegan, vegetarian, or plant-based diet without having to worry over the ingredients. It is also good for most food-related allergies, such as dairy intolerance.

These kinds of products can be identified by their name or because they include vegan somewhere on the packaging.

Some brands also have a green V logo on the back. Helping you to quickly identify what products are entirely vegan and which ones aren’t.

What Candy Can Vegans Eat?

I am sure that there are many out there that would be surprised to hear that many candies aren’t vegan friendly. As far as food items go, candy seems to be the safest option for vegans.

I know that I was pretty surprised to learn about a few weird candy ingredients that weren’t plant-based when I first went vegan.

With candy, milk and eggs are just a few things to watch out for as candy can contain several deceptively non-vegan ingredients that might surprise you.

Confectioners glaze, for instance, is made of shellac, which is a secretion from insects. Pretty unappetizing this is a very common candy ingredient as well.

Here is a list of the most common ingredients in candies to watch out for:

  • Beeswax
  • Honey
  • Gelatin
  • Confectioners glaze
  • Eggs
  • Milk

The good thing is that there are still plenty of vegan candy options that don’t include those ingredients. As long as candy doesn’t contain these ingredients, it is completely safe to eat on a vegan diet!

Is Candy Corn Vegan Friendly?

Candy corn is the treasured item of Halloween, but unfortunately, it is not considered to be vegan friendly.

This is because most brands coat their candy corn in a glaze of shellac or confectioners glaze. Many candy corn brands even include egg whites in their recipe.

Because of these ingredients, candy corn just doesn’t make the cut for this list of vegan Halloween snacks and candy options.

Vegan Halloween Candy Conclusion

Did any of these vegan candy options surprise you? If so, which ones caught you by surprise, and are you going to go buy as many as you can this Halloween?

Though I don’t celebrate Halloween as a holiday, I do enjoy all of the candy that comes out around that time of the month. And for a long time, I thought that I was going to have to miss out!

But there are plenty of vegan Halloween candy options out there to satiate all of us! Many might even come as a surprise as they aren’t marketed as being vegan friendly, they just happen to be vegan.

What are your favorite kinds of vegan Halloween candies to buy this time of the year? Did I miss any on this list? Let me know in the comments, I would love to hear what kinds of vegan candy you have discovered!

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *