Are you on the hunt for some surprisingly vegan foods and surprisingly vegan snacks to buy at your local grocery store?
In this article I am going to be sharing a list of some of the most popular vegan snacks that are easy to find. Many of these will probably even surprise you!
You would be amazed at just how many snacks are accidentally vegan. Options that you would probably not even bother to look at if you were grocery shopping.
All of these snacks are readily available and can most likely be found at your local grocery store. There might even be an old favorite snack or two of your included in this list that you didn’t realize was vegan!
So, if you want to find some easy vegan snacks to eat then keep reading.
Surprisingly Vegan Foods and Snacks
This list by no means covers all of the vegan snack varieties out there. I have simply tried to include a handful of some very popular brands that offer accidently vegan options.
There are many, many brands that carry vegan options and I will probably write on them more in the future.
It is important to keep in mind that some of these brands might not be vegan friendly in your area. As ingredients can sometimes vary from one location to another.
Ingredients lists also change occasionally, so it is a good idea to double check every few moths to make sure the recipe hasn’t changed. It doesn’t happen often but it is always very disappointing when it does happen.
A great rule to follow is to always just double check the ingredients to be absolutely certain that the product is vegan.
Oreos is one of the most surprisingly vegan snacks that you will find on this list. As you would never guess it to be dairy free and vegan friendly.
Because the original Oreo recipe is vegan friendly most of their specialty flavors are vegan as well!
Because there are so many, and they are consistently putting new flavors out and discontinuing old ones. I decided not to list them as the list would be constantly needing an update.
As of right now flavors such as the original, golden birthday cake, mint, carrot cake, peanut butter, and dark chocolate are definitely vegan friendly.
If you want to try out their other flavors just make sure to double check the ingredients first.
Ritz crackers are another one of these surprisingly vegan foods that you might not have known about.
The amazing thing about Ritz crackers is that almost all of the flavors are vegan! Even the bacon flavored crackers which doesn’t contain any animal products either.
The only Ritz cracker that is not considered to be strictly vegan friendly is the honey wheat Ritz crackers because of the addition of honey.
These are a great vegan snack that most grocery stores will carry in your area!
If you were once a Doritos chip fan you might just jump for joy about the next snack on this list!
Spicy sweet chili Dorito chips are indeed vegan as they contain no traces of animal products. As far as I am aware, this is the only vegan friendly Dorito chip flavor that is currently available.
Kettle Potato Chips
Potato chips just might be one of the most common and most popular snack which is why I included this popular chip brand in this list.
Kettle potato chips offers a wonderful variety of vegan friendly flavors to choose from. Making it that much easier to host a vegan barbecue or simply grab a salty and crunchy snack.
I have linked to the flavors that I could find online, the others are probably only available in stores. Here are the vegan flavors that you can choose from:
- backyard barbecue chips
- Maple bacon
- jalapeno chip
- pepperoncini chips
- Roasted garlic
- Unsalted varieties
- Red curry
- Spicy Thai
- sea salt chips
- sea salt and vinegar chips
If you were like me, you once loved to eat all of the flavors of Sun Chips available.
Unfortunately, these chips are not entirely vegan friendly and only the original flavor contains no animal products.
The good thing is that the original flavor is just as good if you are craving your old favorite!
Lay’s Potato chips
Like Kettle potato chips, Lay’s chips also offers a few accidently vegan snacks easy to grab at your local grocery store.
These are a very popular brand, so they are easy to find. And who knows, one of your old favorites just might happen to be vegan!
- classic chips
- barbecue chips
- kettle cooked original chips
- wavy original chips
- lightly salted chips
- dill pickle chips
Nature Valley Crunchy Granola Bars
Nature’s Valley crunchy granola bars is a bit of a healthier option of these surprisingly vegan foods.
They make great snacks that are a little healthier and more filling then most easy to grab snack options.
They even offer a good selection of vegan friendly flavors for you to choose from, such as:
Quaker Rice Cakes
Quaker rice cakes make amazing crunchy snacks and a few flavors just happen to be accidentally vegan!
These make amazing vegan snacks that are easy to find and can be used during road trips, traveling, or just to snack on at home.
Snyder’s of Hanover Pretzel Pieces
If you are a pretzel fan you are going to be very excited over this next surprisingly vegan food on our list.
Snyder’s of Hanover offer a great variety of pretzel options, but we are going to only talk about their popular pretzel pieces flavors.
There are only two vegan friendly flavors of pretzel pieces but in my opinion, these are the two best flavors!
If you are a cracker fan then this option just might be for you.
Town House crackers are a very popular option in the snack isle. And amazingly enough the original cracker flavor is entirely vegan friendly.
I don’t know about you, but I am a Wheat Thin lover and always have been. In fact, this was one of the first surprisingly vegan foods that I discovered upon becoming vegan!
This cracker brand not only tastes amazing and is one of the most popular cracker brands out there. But it also offers an amazing selection of accidently vegan flavors! Such as:
- multi-grain thins
- Garden vegetable
- hint of salt thins
- Flatbread Tuscan herb
- whole grain varieties
- Reduced fat
- original thins
- sun-dried tomato and basil thins
- Spicy buffalo
- cracked pepper and olive oil thins
Original and Barbecue Flavored Fritos
You might be surprised to find out that even a few Frito flavors are considered to be vegan friendly!
This popular corn chip has two flavors that vegans can eat. Original fritos and barbecue fritos are both available to vegans and can be easily found in most grocery stores.
Cracker Jacks is another one of those surprisingly vegan snacks that you would probably never have guessed was vegan!
These caramel covered popcorn pieces are amazingly dairy free which makes them an excellent vegan option for a sweet and crunchy snack.
Many of the Clif bar flavors are accidentally vegan friendly which adds yet another healthier snack to our list.
Clif bars are great for hiking, road trips, traveling, or when you just need a pick me up.
Every flavors are even aside from peanut butter and honey and the sea salt flavor. Aside from those two flavors you have your pick of any Clif bar!
Stacy’s Pita Chips
Stacy’s Pita Chips is an amazing brand of chip that is unique from other types of chips as they are pita chip pieces.
They even have a few vegan flavors which is good news for us chip lovers! Especially if you are looking for a slightly healthier, slightly more wholesome option.
- Italian harvest
- Veggie medley
- Multi grain
- fire roasted jalapeño chips
- simply naked chips
- cinnamon sugar chips
If you are a Pringles lover you might be happy to hear that though Pringles as a brand is not very vegan friendly. They do offer one accidentally vegan option.
Their original flavor is vegan friendly if you are craving that familiar Pringles type of chip.
Just keep in mind that the ingredients might vary depending on where you live. So, always double check the ingredients just in case there is a sneaky dairy product lurking there.
Pop Tarts are another vegan snacks that is easy to find in most grocery stores and there are a few vegan flavor options!
Not many pop tart flavors are vegan, but a few are, and they are always putting g out even more flavors. So, it might be worth it to keep an eye on what is coming out.
After doing some research it seems as though many flavors that used to be vegan are not vegan friendly any longer. The good thing is that almost all of the unfrosted pop tarts are vegan!
One amazing cookie that just so happens to be vegan friendly is Nutter Butters!
These are amazing vegan cookies that many of us grew up eating and they are even accidently vegan which makes them that much better.
If you grew up loving Teddy Grahams you are going to be very happy to know that the chocolate chip variety are actually vegan.
The other flavors unfortunately contain honey but this chocolaty flavor it a good alternative option.
Skinny Pop is a very POPular popcorn brand that just happens to offer many specifically vegan options! They even offer a cheesy flavor that is entirely dairy-free!
You have some pretty great options with this brand as they offer flavors that are branded as vegan, making them easy to spot in stores.
- original popcorn
- sweet popcorn
- sea salt and pepper popcorn
- non-dairy cheddar popcorn
- twist of lime popcorn
Surprisingly Vegan Foods: Honorable Mentions
There are so many vegan snacks out there to choose from and this list only covers a small section of them. Which is why I wanted to include some honorable mentions.
Because finding vegan food and snacks is much easier than many might imagine. Accidentally vegan food is everywhere if you just know where to look for it.
Most vegan snacks that you are going to find are accidentally vegan. Meaning that the creators never actually meant to make it vegan friendly, it just naturally happened.
I especially love accidentally vegan foods as they are usually so surprising, not to mention exciting! You never know what will turn out to be vegan when you are looking through food labels in the snack isle.
- Fruit Loops
- Jolly Ranchers
- Nabisco Oreo 100 Cal Crisps
- Sour Patch Kids
- BelVita Bites
- Lindt 70% Dark Chocolate
- Pipcorn Popcorn
- Zesta Original Saltine Crackers
Surprisingly Vegan Foods Conclusion
I hope that this list of surprisingly vegan foods and snack options has helped to broaden your vegan snack horizon!
There are so many amazing vegan snack options out there that you would never guess were vegan friendly. There are many amazing snacks that might just come as a surprise to you. Even if you have been vegan for a while!
In fact, some of these vegan snacks surprised me as well! And I have been vegan for nearly a decade now. And yet I am still finding new snacks that are accidentally vegan.
And thankfully these lists make it so much easier to get the scoop on accidentally vegan foods since no one wants to spend forever reading food labels in the grocery store!
Let me know what your favorite accidentally vegan snack is or if you have tried any of the ones we mentioned above!