vegan at dairy queen

How to Eat Vegan at Dairy Queen: 13 Vegan Friendly Options

Are you trying to find out how to eat vegan at Dairy Queen or does Dairy queen have vegan options?

In this article we are going to be talking about vegan fast food options at Dairy Queen for when you need to eat on the go.

We all have those days where stopping to really eat a decent meal just isn’t an option. This is where fast food places like Dairy queen step in.

It can be pretty intimidating to try to order take out when you follow a vegan diet. It makes fast food just a bit harder to pick out since much of it includes animal products.

Which is why I wanted to help you out by creating this easy to follow list of vegan Dairy queen options for you to choose from.

There may not be many options, but I am sure that there is something on this list for everyone!

So, keep reading to find out what is vegan at Dairy Queen!

How to Eat Vegan at Dairy Queen

As a vegan, one of the hardest things about eating a vegan diet is trying to eat out at fast food restaurants.

This is because these types of food places don’t really cater to healthy food or diets. Making it much harder to find satisfying vegan options to order.

There is nothing worse than driving up to a fast food place only to realize that there aren’t any vegan options to choose from.

It’s disappointing and downright frustrating!

But lists like this can greatly help you to avoid those kinds of scenarios. So, if you want to be able to order vegan food at Dairy Queen keep reading!

Related: How to Eat Vegan at Any Restaurant the Complete Guide

Food 

Eating vegan at Dairy Queen might not be the best option but they do offer a few good food options when you are in a pinch.

Many of these food options will need to be slightly adapted in order to be fully vegan.

1.     Cheeseburger Deluxe

If you are really craving something substantial you can order a cheeseburger deluxe.

Just make sure to clearly ask for no meat, cheese, or mayo. And ask that they double all of the veggies.

2.     Pretzel Sticks

Dairy Queens pretzel sticks are indeed vegan friendly with just a few easy adjustments.

Ask for no queso dipping sauce, which isn’t vegan, and ask for your pretzels to be without any added butter.

3.     Hash Browns

Hash browns are a great option when ordering vegan at Dairy Queen. They are savory and satisfying.

You could even order hash browns and a side salad in order to make a relatively filling meal!

4.     Fries

Dairy Queens fries are vegan friendly and can be spiced up with any of the dipping sauces mentioned below.

5.     Side Salad

The side salads at Dairy Queen are naturally made up entirely of plant-based ingredients. And you can look at the salad dressing options mentioned below.

6.     Lays Barbecue and Baked Chips

You can also grab a small bag of Lays barbecue or baked potato chips for another savory element to your meal.

These are great for snacking on the go or satisfying your salty craving.

Related: Surprising Vegan Foods You Need to Know About

vegan at dairy queen

Drinks

Dairy Queen is very well known for its variety of specialty drinks from coffees to blizzards to smoothies.

While all of these options might not be suitable for vegans, you still have plenty of drinks to choose from.

7.     Misty Slushies 

If you are ordering vegan at Dairy Queen you should definitely pick up a misty slushy.

The slushies are all vegan friendly and you have several flavors to choose from.

8.     Light Smoothies

The light smoothies at Dairy Queen are a great vegan fast food option since they are completely dairy-free.

Unlike the normal smoothies, light smoothies include fresh fruit instead of yogurt, making them vegan friendly!

Just make sure to ask at your local Dairy Queen as products can be made differently in different locations.

9.     Sodas

Like any fast food restaurant, you will have the option of being able to grab a soft drink or water if you prefer.

They also include other types of drinks such as sprite and lemonade in most locations.

Treats

Dairy Queen is a great place to go for some sweet treats as they are one of the only fast food places that offer vegan ice cream options!

They might not have many vegan fast food options but the options that they do have are delicious.

10.  Star kiss Frozen Treat

The Star kiss froze treat is a delicious sherbet like ice cream bar that is fruit flavored.

This is a great option if you want something cold and sweet and refreshing to snack on.

Unfortunately, this vegan fast food option isn’t available in every location, so you will need to ask you local Dairy Queen if it is available.

11.  Non-Dairy Dilly Bar

Dairy Queen now offers dairy-free dilly bars made with a delicious coconut ice cream base and covered in crunchy chocolate.

This ice cream bar is truly a vegan friendly treat making it one of the best vegan Dairy Queen options available.

If you are craving something sweet and cold, this is the option for you!

12.  Applesauce 

If you look on the kid’s menu you will be able to buy an apple sauce pouch. It isn’t the greatest vegan option out there, but it can still be a nice treat on a long work day or road trip.

13.  Banana

Like the apple sauce, you can also find bananas on the kids’ menu at Dairy Queen. 

This is a great healthy option if you just need a little extra energy or something to tide you over until you can eat a real meal.

Vegan Friendly Dipping Sauces and Salad Dressings

One great way to spice up a meal at Dairy Queen is to include some flavor packed sauces and dressings!

A side salad without at least a little bit of dressing is going to look and taste pretty sad. And I know that I can’t be the only one who doesn’t like to eat a dry fry.

The good thing is that Dairy Queen offers vegan fast food options when it comes to their dipping sauces and salad dressings.

So, here are the vegan friendly options that you can ask for:

Salad Dressings:

  • Marzetti Asia Sesame Dressing
  • Marzetti Balsamic Vinaigrette Dressing
  • Marzetti Fat free California French Style Dressing
  • Marzetti Light Italian Dressing

Dipping Sauces:

  • BBQ Dipping Sauce Cup
  • Ketchup
  • Mustard
  • Wild Buffalo Dipping Sauce Cup

Are Dairy Queen Smoothies Vegan?

When you wonder does Dairy Queen have vegan options, your mind might automatically go to their smoothies.

Dairy Queen offers a delicious range of refreshing smoothies and you might want to grab one for yourself.

But are they vegan friendly?

The answer is yes! At least for the light smoothie options.

The light smoothies contain fresh fruit instead of yogurt which makes them dairy-free and vegan friendly! This might possibly change according to your local Dairy Queen so just be sure to double check.

You have a lot of tasty options when it comes to the light smoothies with a wide range of flavors. Such as orange strawberry, pina colada, berry pom, and triple berry mango pineapple.

Does Dairy Queen Have Vegan Ice Cream?

You might also be wondering, does Dairy Queen have vegan options when it come to their ice cream selection. Because we all know that one of the best things about Dairy Queen is their ice cream!

The good news is that, like the list mentions, Dairy Queen now offers a dairy-free dilly bar. This tasty vegan treat is melt in your mouth delicious and will certainly satiate that ice cream craving.

Depending on your location you might also be able to get your hands on their star kiss frozen treat. This is very similar to a sherbet ice cream, only in bar form.

Aside from these two options there aren’t any other vegan ice cream options at Dairy Queen.

We can all hope that one day they will offer vegan ice cream cones and blizzards. But as of right now they only offer these two vegan friendly ice cream options.

Related: Best Vegan Non-Dairy Ice Cream Brands to Buy

Conclusion

I hope that this article has helped you to understand how you can eat vegan at Dairy Queen.

When it comes to vegan fast food options, Dairy Queen is a pretty good place to go in my book. They have a pretty considerable list of vegan options that might be harder to find somewhere else.

Finding vegan fast food is easily one of the hardest things to do as a vegan because there are so few options.

But the good thing is that many fast food places are slowly started to get on board and offer meat free and dairy-free options.

Making it that much easier for us vegans to also enjoy fast food.

What do you usually order at Dairy Queen? Do you have any recommendations?

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *