If you are looking for the best vegan candy that is accidentally vegan then you are in the right place!
In this list on candies that are vegan friendly we will be talking about vegan gummies, vegan chocolate candy, and vegan hard candy.
Because you would be surprised at just how many kinds of candy out there are suitable for a plant-based diet!
It can seem hard to find sweets that we used to eat before giving up animal products. But thankfully there are plenty of accidently vegan options out there just waiting to be enjoyed.
I have included 20 of the most popular candies that are suitable for a plant-based diet. Many of these might have even been your favorite candies at one point!
So, keep reading to find out which candies are free of all animal products and vegan friendly.
Best Vegan Candy
I have only included some of the most popular candy options in this list. But there are even more options to choose from depending on where you live.
You would be surprised at how many store-bought sweets are free of animal products. Even many old candy brands are accidently vegan!
These are all great options for those trips to the grocery store when you have a sweet tooth. Or as a special sweet treat to enjoy while watching a movie.
And don’t forget to read till the end of the article to find out which ingredients to watch out for!
One of the hardest vegan candy options to find just might be vegan gummies.
This is because most gummy candies get their texture from gelatin. A product made from animal connective tissue, bones, tendons, and ligaments. Gross right?
The good thing is that there are a few gummy options that are thickened with plant-based friendly ingredients such as corn starch!
Here are just a few popular options of vegan gummies!
These classic gummies are indeed vegan friendly and approved!
They might make your mouth hurt but oh, is it worth it!
2. Swedish Fish
These classic fish shaped candies are a blast from the past, at least for me that is.
These gummies are a great sweet treat if you just have to have something chewy and perhaps a little over pigmented!
Are these a gummy or a hard candy? We may never know but for the purposes of this list I am calling them one of the vegan gummies.
These sweet treats are in every grocery store, making them the perfect option for the vegan on the go.
Dots are an old chewy candy that has been around for a very long time.
These are also rather easy to find and are a good sweet treat for when you are feeling that craving. Just expect to be picking them out of your teeth for a few hours!
Airheads are another popular option that are easy to find. They are sweet and chewy and oh so satisfying.
Great options for when you just have to have some candy.
I have never had jujubes, but I thought they were worth mentioning in case you have.
They look very similar to Dots!
I decided to combine these two chewy candy options as they are basically the same just different brands.
Though if you can, I would recommend Twizzlers over Redvines any day!
Vegan Chocolate Candy
Chocolate is by far the hardest type of sweet to find that is plant-based friendly. As most chocolates contain milk.
I only wanted to include candy that is accidentally vegan, so I didn’t include any vegan brands of chocolate. If you want something closer to milk chocolate you will have to look at some vegan brands.
Vegan chocolate candy is manly if not only going to be of the dark chocolate variety.
But if you like dark chocolate, here are a few excellent plant-based options!
Lindt is a very popular brand of chocolate bar that is also very easy to access. You can most likely find this at any of your local grocery stores.
It is a pretty bitter chocolate since it is 70% cocoa, but it is good quality which makes a world of difference!
9. Endangered Species Dark Chocolate Bars
This is a brand of chocolate that I try to support whenever I can as it donates a percentage of each bar sold to protecting endangered species!
Many of their bars are vegan friendly and they are even so kind to add a vegan sign to help us find them easier.
Chocolove bars is another vegan chocolate candy brand that offers a few good plant-based options.
Many of their dark chocolate bars are free of milk including the crystalized ginger dark chocolate bar. A very tasty option if you love the kick of ginger!
Vegan Hard Candy
One of the best vegan candy options that you can find relatively easily is hard candies.
This is because most are made with a very simple formula that doesn’t include gelatin or milk. Making it easy to find plant-based options!
Just make sure to always check the food label just in case. You never know what sneaky ingredients you might find there.
11. Dum Dum Suckers
Dumdums are another candy that will take you back to childhood.
These mini suckers are great for a small sweet tooth fix or for driving.
I don’t know about you, but one of my favorite candy flavors is definitely root beer!
These root beer barrels are tasty and provide the perfect sweet tooth fix. Just keep track of how many you have eaten because it can quickly get out of hand!
13. Blow Pops
Blow sucker pops are another excellent sucker option, only these have the extra benefit of having gum in the center.
These have always been one of my favorite suckers and I was pleasantly surprised to learn that they were a vegan candy.
Gobstoppers are a great hard candy that has an almost sweet tart candy center that is crunchy and sweet.
These are great little hard candies to enjoy. Just don’t choke on them!
15. Jolly Ranchers
This is a very popular hard candy that I am sure many would be ecstatic to find to be vegan friendly.
These sweet and sour hard candies are a great option that you can find almost anywhere.
If you are a lemon lover like me you might find yourself searching for a lemony vegan candy. And lemonheads are just the thing.
These sweet and tart candies are a wonderful sweet treat to enjoy if you like a little tartness.
17. Atomic Fireballs
Atomic Fireballs are a hard, almost jawbreaker like candy, that is extremely spicy.
These candies aren’t for the faint of heart but if you can take the heat they are a pretty delicious sweet treat.
Nerds are those fun little boxes of candy-coated sugar crystals. Fun to eat and pretty darn delicious if I do say so myself!
These might be a little harder to find as they are a pretty old candy, but I know that they are out there.
19. Sweet Tarts
Sweet Tarts are another classic candy that is still pretty widely available.
These candies are sweet, slightly tart, and extra crunchy!
Smarties and Sweet Tarts are actually quite similar. So, if you can’t find one you could buy the other.
Both are sweet, tart, and have a very crunchy texture.
What Candy Ingredients Aren’t Vegan?
I am sure that there are many out there that would be surprised to hear that many candies aren’t vegan friendly.
I know that I was pretty surprised to learn about a few weird candy ingredients that weren’t plant-based when I first went vegan.
With candy milk and eggs are just a few things to watch out for as candy can contain several deceptively not vegan ingredients.
Confectioners glaze for instance is made of shellac which is a secretion from insects. Pretty unappetizing. This is a very common candy ingredient as well.
Here is a list of the most common ingredients in candies to watch out for:
- Confectioners glaze
The good thing is that there are still plenty of vegan candy options that don’t include those ingredients.
And this list only covers 20 of those options! So, don’t limit yourself, check out the candy isle next time you’re at the grocery store.
I hope this this list on the best vegan candy was helpful to you and that you found it somewhat useful.
These are some of the best options out there that are considerably available to most of us.
I wanted to find options that were easy to access so that you could enjoy some vegan candy without having to go out of your way. Or break your budget on pricy vegan brand names.
Let me know in the comments what your favorite plant-based candy is. Is it one of the options on this list or do you have another name to add to it?